Jake you must be a mad man if you don’t like “Mad Men”? Yeh I’m hilarious…

In response to Jake’s anti “Mad Men” rant I have written the following, hope you enjoy:

“Mad men” is great. Really great. I’ll admit that it doesn’t have the same hook as other contemporary shows it’s often grouped with, I mean if I hadn’t watched any TV in the last 10 years and somebody asked me what would I rather see a TV show about New Jersey gangsters, a drugs war in Baltimore or some ad men in the 1960’s, the latter would undeniably be my third choice. The thing that sets it apart from the other two shows, and also I think what turns the J-dawg off it, is that it’s by no means a show that grabs you by the balls, it’s a show that buys you a few drinks first, asks you about your day and then before you know it it’s unhooked your bra and got its hands down your pants but by this point you don’t care because you’re in love with it.

The thing which Jake failed to acknowledge, great guy that he is, is the quality of the writing. Just based on the brilliance of the dialogue alone, which perfectly juggles that ratio of naturalism and stylishness, it’s the best written show on TV. The writing’s so good that the gears of the plots are disguised to point of invisibility – you never feels the writer’s hand pushing things along. If I was more pretentious I’d probably say the writing is incredibly organic or something but I’m not so I won’t. What I think I’m trying to get at is that “Mad Men”, despite all the glitz and glamour of the production values, is actually highly realistic in the way the narrative unfolds. Even “The Wire” ,where by law you have to use world realistic whenever you discuss it, loosely followed the rules of a Greek tragedy. “Mad Men” however doesn’t seem to follow any rules, characters and plotlines that were prevalent in one series or episode might not resurface for a couple of series if at all. I don’t want to go into specifics but between series 1 and 2 there’s a leap in time of a year and certain key aspects of the first series are never mentioned again, we as the audience can only presume they’ve been resolved but we don’t really know.

Reading that last sentence back I think I’ve finally figured out what it is about the writing that sets it apart from other TV dramas: it’s written as if the audience doesn’t exist – you don’t follow the characters you observe them. And what characters they are to observe. The whole ethos of the show is, like advertising, the relationship between the appearance and reality. All the characters are equally messed up and unhappy and equally pretending they’re not. Take Don Draper for example, a man so sexy I let out a girlish squeal just then when I typed his name, he is, and it pains me to say it, an enigma of a man. As the audience we want to find out what makes him tick but four series down and we’re no closer than when we were at episode one. We don’t know really know what any of the characters want, we don’t even know if the characters know what they want, they’re incredibly self-centered, complex and contradictory creations and that makes for some bloody compelling TV.

There’s loads more I could go on to say but quite frankly praising something is not nearly as fun as slagging it off so I’ll stop here..also I supect my main man JB will write a much more clever, funny and articulate article soon which will include everything I missed out.

Oh and last one thing, January Jones hottest female named after a month? We all know who’s really top of the list…

"Some spider-man shit there"*

Dannymoran

*Obligatory Wire reference

Leave a Reply

